Mitchell Tenpenny Achieves Country’s Biggest New Artist Debut of 2018

Breakthrough singer/songwriter Mitchell Tenpenny achieves country’s biggest new artist debut of 2018 this week. On Billboard’s Top Country Albums chart, Tenpenny makes his first album entry by amassing 20,000 units of his Telling All My Secrets (Riser House/Columbia Nashville), the best first-week showing for a major label country debut album this year.  

This week’s second-highest charting non-seasonal country album, Telling All My Secrets claims No. 5 on Billboard’s Top Country Albums chart (total album equivalent consumption) and No. 1 on Nielsen Music’s
Top Current Country Albums chart (traditional album sales). Released on
December 14, Tenpenny’s album features the Gold-certified #1 airplay
smash “Drunk Me,” which was lauded by the New York Times as one of the Best Songs of the Year (all genres) and made multiple Amazon Music “Most Played” and “Best Of” year-end lists. Telling All My Secrets is available to download and stream HERE.

“What an incredible gift I received on Christmas Eve,” remarked Mitchell
Tenpenny. “I was so pleasantly surprised with the news that Telling All My Secrets debuted on the Billboard album chart in such a huge way!

Tenpenny emphasized, “I can’t say this enough: What’s happening in my
life right now is something I’ve always dreamed about! I have to thank
the producers, co-writers, musicians, engineers and mixers on the album,
as well as my incredible fans, friends, band members, management,
booking agency, record label and publishing company team members.” He
added, “I also send a special shout out to country radio, brand
partners, music industry supporters, media critics and other artists who
have embraced what I do.

“From the bottom of my heart, I appreciate you all for changing my life in 2018!”

Growing up on Music Row under the watchful eye of his grandmother,
industry veteran and first female CEO of Sony/ATV Music Publishing,
Donna Hilley, Tenpenny is no stranger to the Music Row houses where he
crafted his Riser House/Columbia Nashville debut album. The soulful
vocalist wrote 56 songs in preparation for the album narrowing it down
to 11 strong tracks, which include his No.1 hit, “Drunk Me,” and the
singer/songwriter’s next single, “Alcohol You Later,” due out in
January. (See complete track listing below.)

Mitchell Tenpenny, who recently made Pandora’s Artists to Watch in 2019 list and became a MusicRow 2019
Next Big Thing honoree, co-produced “Drunk Me” with Jordan M. Schmidt
and co-penned the song with Schmidt and Justin Wilson. Now totaling over
125 million streams, “Drunk Me” officially impacted country radio on
March 26, garnering 60 combined Billboard and Country Aircheck/Mediabase
stations. With 52 Mediabase adds, this cinched Tenpenny’s impact add
week total to be the best for a country debut single in two years. In
fact, the last country artist to achieve this many impact week adds was
Tenpenny’s label mate Maren Morris with her debut single, “My Church” in
January 2016. Upon its release, “Drunk Me” also made chart history by
achieving the highest entry ever for a new artist on Nielsen’s On Demand
Audio Core Country Streaming chart. The single debuted at No. 39 with a
total of 1.5 million streams.

Recently, Tenpenny announced taking the celebration of his album release
to the people who have supported him all along: the fans. His “Telling
All My Secrets Album Release Tour” launched December 8, in Rome, Georgia
and continues through February 1 with stops in 11 cities with special
guests, up-and-coming artists Adam Hambrick, Seaforth and Ross Ellis.
(See tour dates below.)

Following the conclusion of his “Telling All My Secrets Album Release
Tour,” Mitchell Tenpenny joins Old Dominion’s “Make It Sweet Tour” from
February 27 through April 27 as a special guest.

“Telling All My Secrets Album Release Tour” (remaining dates)

Jan. 4       Charlotte, NC              Coyote Joe’s (Ross Ellis opening)

Jan. 5       Greenville, SC             Blind Horse Saloon (Ross Ellis opening)

Jan. 11     Charlottesville, VA       Jefferson Theater (Seaforth opening)

Jan. 12     Silver Springs, MD      The Fillmore (Seaforth opening)

Feb. 1       Denver, CO                 The Grizzly Rose (Seaforth opening)

Telling All My Secrets Track Listing (with songwriters)

1.   Truck I Drove in High School | Mitchell Tenpenny/Jordan Schmidt/Andrew Albert/Devin Dawson

2.   Alcohol You Later | Mitchell Tenpenny/Sam Sumser/Michael Lotten

3.   All On You | Mitchell Tenpenny/Andrew Albert/Nick Fradiani/Jordan Schmidt

4.   Goner | Mitchell Tenpenny/Andrew Albert/Jordan Schmidt

5.   Chance Worth Taking | Mitchell Tenpenny/Josh Hoge/Matthew McVaney

6.   I Get The Picture | Mitchell Tenpenny/Alex Kline/Michael Whitworth

7.   Drunk Me | Mitchell Tenpenny/Jordan Schmidt/Justin Wilson

8.   Somebody’s Got Me | Mitchell Tenpenny/Hillary Lindsey/Jordan Schmidt

9.   Somebody Ain’t You | Mitchell Tenpenny/Thomas Archer/Dallas Wilson

10. Telling All My Secrets | Mitchell Tenpenny/Jordan Minton/Dallas Wilson

11. Walk Like Him | Mitchell Tenpenny/Justin Ebach/Steven Dale Jones

About Mitchell Tenpenny

Mitchell Tenpenny is a rugged individualist who operates with confidence
in the space between contradictory themes. Multiplicity is also
reflected in his diverse musical taste and soulful vocal delivery, which
is gaining an ardent audience.An authentic, fearless songwriter and
performer, Tenpenny has toured with Maren Morris, Jake Owen, Brett
Young, Lynyrd Skynyrd, and Dustin Lynch among others, and hepenned the
Top 5 hit “If the Boot Fits” for Granger Smith. In January, Sony Music
Nashville and Riser House announced Mitchell Tenpenny’s signing to Riser
House/Columbia Nashville, as a result of a new joint-venture. Tenpenny
was the flagship artist for Riser House, founded by Matt Swanson,
Jennifer Johnson and Mitchell Tenpenny.   A month later, he released
hisRiser House/Columbia Nashville self-titled EP.

For more information, visit

 Photo Credit: Matthew Berinato

Related Posts

Radio Live Show Playlist February 26th

Tune In 24/7 to Country Music News International Radio Show

Radio Live Show Playlist February 24th

Tune In 24/7 to Country Music News International Radio Show

Country Music News International Newsletter

Here is your Country Music News & Bluegrass Music News of the week

Edgar Loudermilk on Country Music News International Radio Show

February 26th, 27th, 28th, March 1st interviewed by Big Al Weekley

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *