Meadow Creek – Pieces Of Driftwood

CD Review: Meadow Creek – Pieces Of Driftwood

by Antony Bailey for Country Music News International

  1. Home Sweet Home
  2. I will Wait
  3. Eye Of The Storm
  4. When Old Daddy Is Gone
  5. Set The World On Fire
  6. Where Angels Fear To Tread
  7. Vampire’s Kiss
  8. We Are The Best Part Of Me
  9. Loaded Gun
  10. Love Like Yours And Mine


The popular Swedish duo Meadow Creek unveiled a well-received ten-track EP that was released on 5th June 2020 and is available to stream and download from multiple online platforms. Their album is a balanced blend of traditional and modern country music and they have formed magnificent two-part harmony throughout the record. The pair have toured across Sweden and Europe since the turn of the century and are well-versed in composing country music that is able to strike a chord with its global audience.

‘Home Sweet Home’ is the opening song on the album and starts in traditional fashion with the use of a fiddle and acoustic guitar. The dynamics gradually increase with the drums making an appearance for the chorus and remaining sections of the song. The lyrical content is influenced by religion, love, and an overwhelming sentiment of returning home which is where the heart belongs for the many.

‘I will Wait’ is a lively piece of music which contains a message of being patient and waiting for the right moment to come along without waiting in vain at the same time. ‘Eye Of The Storm’ does what it says on the tin by taking its audience on an emotional journey from a lyrical perspective as they reflect on a past romance that needs closure, yet a burning desire remains to one day be rekindled.

‘When Old Daddy Is Gone’ tones it down a notch from an instrumental perspective as there is a slight decline in tempo which, in turn, creates more room for an emotive and poignant piece of music reflecting on sweet memories and blessed moments from somebody’s childhood. The meter also shifts from a 4/4 to 6/8 which ultimately creates wider intervals between the notes and lyrics.

‘Set The World On Fire’ sees the music return to a common meter while the dynamics slightly increase again to add more power to the music. ‘‘Time Is A Healer’’ summarises the meaning behind this song and resonates with almost everyone as there isn’t a single person on the planet who doesn’t know what pain feels like be it emotional or physical. It also sings about being brave, bold, and to believe in one’s own abilities to make positive change to the world.

‘Where Angels Fear To Tread’ is metaphorical in the sense that it suggests that certain people aren’t meant to be trapped in one place forever as their wings have simply been clipped. It touches on being confident and believing that stepping into the unknown and traversing through uncharted territory is the first step to personal growth.

The rest of the album continues the same mood and energy as it concludes with what feels like a love ballad as ‘Love Like Yours And Mine’ captivates its audience and whisks them away on an emotional journey of heartbreak, hope, and desperation before bringing them back down to reality. The record is well-worth downloading and turning to for a moment of reflection and remind oneself that an individual has to control themselves and their emotions before being able to love and care for others.

Here at Country Music News International we believe in Bluegrass and Country Music. During this difficult time we have to stand together. Almost everyone in the business is being impacted financially. In order to help artists, songwriters, musicians and any related music business like music stores, publicists, record labels, music bars, instrument companies, record studios … keep business moving forward, we are making an unprecedented offer. For more details:

Related Posts

Shaboozey – Where I’ve Been, Isn’t Where I’m Going

By Georgette Diab for Country Music News International Magazine

Tim McGraw – Live Like You Were Dying

By Georgette Diab for Country Music News International Magazine

Keith Urban – The Speed of Now Part 1

By Georgette Diab for Country Music News International Magazine

Brett Young – Brett Young

By Georgette Diab for Country Music News International Magazine

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *