Eric Church, CHIEF (EMI Records Nashville) 


Church’s Bowery Ballroom New York City performance is a sell-out

Nashville, Tenn. (Monday, July 25, 2011) – The reigning ACM New Solo Vocalist of the Year, EMI Records Nashville’s Eric Church, will release his highly-anticipated third studio album, CHIEF, tomorrow, Tuesday, July 26, featuring the Top 15 critically-acclaimed hit “Homeboy.”

USA Today named “Homeboy” their Pick of the Week and Billboard raved “the singer/songwriter has never hidden his rock’n’roll sensibilities.  But there’s no doubt he’s country to the core…. [“Homeboy”] does a fine job of bridging the gap between twang and tilt.”

The single is not Church’s only material receiving praise.  Critics have responded enthusiastically to CHIEF in early reviews:

–    “ . . . one of Nashville’s sharpest young songwriters, and on CHIEF the rock guitars and twangy blues are set against big hooks and finely grained storytelling.”  – Rolling Stone
–    “ . . . one of Nashville’s most detail-oriented songwriters…the honesty of his confessions can sear.” – Entertainment Weekly
–    “ . . . this is one of the most enjoyable listens in country music this year.” – American Songwriter

–    “Together with his producer, Jay Joyce, Eric has created the most lively, and arguably most adventurous, record to come out of Nashville this year. You can almost feel the crowd jostle and the beer spill onto your boots as the album unfolds…” – Country Weekly
–    “Every good artist reaches a watershed moment and Eric Church has arrived at his with ‘CHIEF.’” – The Boston Globe
–   “ . . . brimming with blow-ups, kiss-offs and a few salty tears between the sneers…Church knows how to tell a story.”  — The Washington Post
–    “Hail to the ‘Chief’ of country music” – The Virginian-Pilot

For CHIEF, Church has once again teamed up with Producer Jay Joyce (Patty Griffin, Cage the Elephant, Emmylou Harris).  Joyce produced previous releases SINNERS LIKE ME (2006) and CAROLINA (2008) which have produced six Top 20 hits (“How ‘Bout You,” “Two Pink Lines,” and “Guys Like Me” from his 2006 critically-acclaimed debut; “Love Your Love The Most,” “Hell On The Heart,” and “Smoke A Little Smoke” from his RIAA Gold® Certified sophomore release CAROLINA). 

Church will celebrate the release of CHIEF the way he celebrates all the important milestones of his career – with his fans.  A sold-out New York City crowd will be treated to an intimate performance on July 26 at Bowery Ballroom for “CHIEF: Deconstructed” where Church and many of the songwriters from the album will share the stories behind the songs they penned during Church’s month of seclusion in the North Carolina cabin. 

CHIEF Track-by-Track:
1. Creepin’ (Eric Church / Marv Green)
2. Drink In My Hand (Eric Church, Michael P. Heeney, Luke Laird)
3. Keep On (Eric Church / Ryan Tyndell)
4. Like Jesus Does (Casey Beathard / Monty Criswell)
5. Hungover & Hard Up (Eric Church / Luke Laird)
6. Homeboy (Eric Church / Casey Beathard)
7. Country Music Jesus (Eric Church / Jeremy Spillman)
8. Jack Daniels (Eric Church / Jeff Hyde / Lynn Hutton)
9. Springsteen (Eric Church / Jeff Hyde / Ryan Tyndell)
10. I’m Gettin’ Stoned (Eric Church / Jeff Hyde / Casey Beathard / Jeremy Cradey)
11. Over When It’s Over (Eric Church / Luke Laird)

Church will continue to make appearances in support of the release including upcoming shows through October on Toby Keith’s “Locked and Loaded Tour.”  For more information, please visit

Related Posts

Radio Live Show Playlist May 13th

Tune In 24/7 to Country Music News International Radio Show

Radio Live Show Playlist May 11th

Tune In 24/7 to Country Music News International Radio Show

Country Music News International Newsletter

Here is your Country Music News & Bluegrass Music News of the week!

TG Sheppard on Country Music News International Radio Show

May 14th, 15th, 11th interviewed by Big Al Weekley!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *