Music Icon Makes Her Sire Records Debut With Her Signature Takes On Country Classics From The ‘40s, ‘50s, And ‘60s

Lauper Enlists Country Elite For Swinging Duets Including Vince Gill, Emmylou Harris, Jewel, Alison Krauss, And Willie Nelson

Available From Sire Records On May 6

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (February 17, 2016)
– Cyndi Lauper’s celebrated musical journey takes an unexpected
southern turn on DETOUR, her 11th studio album, which finds the Grammy®,
Emmy® and Tony®-winning singer-songwriter putting her signature spin on
a dozen classic country songs.

DETOUR showcases Lauper’s unmistakable voice on country classics from
the ‘40s, ‘50s and ‘60s and features guest appearances from county
music stars Vince Gill, Emmylou Harris, Alison Krauss, and Willie
Nelson. Lauper recorded the album in Nashville alongside a band
comprised of the city’s top session players.

The album is Lauper’s first for Sire Records and is executive
produced by legendary Sire founder, Seymour Stein. DETOUR will be
available May 6 on CD ($18.98), LP ($24.98), and digitally.

Lauper says recording a country album is something she’s dreamed
about for many years. Growing up, she recalls listening to singers like
Patsy Cline, Loretta Lynn, and Wanda Jackson in her Aunt Gracie’s
kitchen. “When I was a really young kid, country music was pop music, so
this is what we grew up listening to. These songs are part of some of
my earliest memories so it has been an absolute thrill to revisit them.”

Lauper sounds right at home from the start, beginning with the album
opener, “Funnel Of Love,” a track Wanda Jackson, the Queen of
Rockabilly, recorded in 1960. Another highlight is the rollicking take
on “Heartaches By The Number,” a country standard previously covered by
everyone from George Jones to Waylon Jennings to Dwight Yoakum. DETOUR
also features stunning covers of two classic Pasty Cline songs, “Walkin’
After Midnight” and her #1 smash, “I Fall To Pieces.” Lauper says, “I
spent a lot of time in my room singing with Patsy. I had to sing a Patsy
Cline song – or two – because her voice was like one of my girlfriends.
That’s how close I felt to her.”

For the album, Lauper duets with several special guests, including
country music royalty: Emmylou Harris (on the title track), Willie
Nelson (“Night Life,” a song he wrote over 50 years ago), Vince Gill
(Loretta Lynn and Conway Twitty’s “You’re The Reason Our Kids Are Ugly”)
and Alison Krauss (Dolly Parton’s “Hard Candy Christmas.” Jewel also
makes an appearance on DETOUR, showcasing her prodigious yodeling skills
on “I Want To Be A Cowboy’s Sweetheart,” which was the first country
song by a woman to sell one million copies.

DETOUR Track Listing:

  1. “Funnel Of Love”
  2. “Detour” – Featuring Emmylou Harris
  3. “Misty Blue”
  4. “Walkin’ After Midnight”
  5. “Heartaches By The Number”
  6. “The End Of The World”
  7. “Night Life” – Featuring Willie Nelson
  8. “Begging To You”
  9. “You’re The Reason Our Kids Are Ugly” – Featuring Vince Gill
  10. “I Fall To Pieces”
  11. “I Want To Be A Cowboy’s Sweetheart” – Featuring Jewel
  12. “Hard Candy Christmas” – Featuring Alison Krauss

Related Posts

Country Music News International Newsletter

Here is your Country Music News & Bluegrass Music News of the week!

Daryl Mosley on Country Music News International Radio Show

December 4., 5., 6., 8, 9. interviewed by Big Al Weekley!

Playlist November 25th – December 1st

Tune in 24/7 to Country Music News International Radio Show!

Country Music News International Newsletter

Here is your Country Music News & Bluegrass Music News of the week

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *