Unsigned Only Announces 2016 Winners

Unsigned Only Announces 2016 Winners

Rising Star Ingrid Andress Wins Grand Prize
In Unsigned Only Music Competition

Aimee Mann, The Struts, Colt Ford, Bone Thugs N Harmony, Aaron Shust, The Killers, Frank Foster,
Lucero, and Many More Select Winners

For a complete list of winners, click here.

Unsigned Only is now accepting entries for the 2017 competition.
To enter, click here.

September 15, 2016 – Unsigned Only Music Competition is pleased to announce
the 2016 winners. Selected from almost 6,000 entries, the winners represent some of the best
unsigned artists worldwide in contemporary music. Unsigned Only awards more than $150,000 in
prizes split among 28 winners, including a Grand Prize package of $20,000 in cash (US) and
much more in merchandise and services.

Judges included high-profile recording artists and tastemaker music journalists from Rolling
Stone, Guitar Player, Paste Magazine, Entertainment Weekly, LA Weekly, Yahoo Music, The
Boston Herald, and many more.

The overall Grand Prize goes to the gifted performer and songwriter Ingrid Andress for the
song “Footprints.” In addition to winning cash and prizes, Andress also receives one-on-one
mentoring from a group of upper echelon music industry executives from Atlantic, Warner Bros.,
RCA, Epic, Razor & Tie, Disney Music Group/Hollywood Records, Nettwerk Music Group, Black
River Entertainment, and others.

After learning that she had won the Grand Prize, Andress said, “You always hear about this
happening to other people, but I never thought it would happen to me. It’s such an amazing
and rare opportunity to have people care about you and your music. It’s very inspiring to
feel supported by an organization who just want you to do well because of your music ability
and your love for your art.”

2016 Grand Prize Winner: Ingrid Andress

Ingrid Andress
Ingrid Andress – “Footprints
Highlands, CO, USA

Hailing from Highlands Ranch, CO, USA, Ingrid Andress began her music career performing in
the TV industry. After touring and singing on two seasons of NBC’s “The Sing Off” as a part
of the a cappella group Delilah, she attended Berklee College of Music on a vocal scholarship.
She now lives in Nashville where she collaborates and performs with various country and pop

Founders Candace Avery and Jim Morgan state, “Ingrid is a remarkable young artist who displays
a great depth of talent and versatility, stretching out into the Country and Pop genres with a
unique sensibility that is creative and current. The stripped down version of her winning song
“Footprints” allows you to hear her raw, honest talent and undeniable gift as an artist.”

Congratulations to Ingrid on this outstanding achievement!


Aimee Mann; The Killers; The Struts; Bone Thugs N Harmony; David Crowder; Aaron Shust; Lucero;
Colt Ford; Frank Foster; Rapsody; Anthony DeCurtis (Contributing Editor, Rolling Stone); Kyle
Anderson (Senior Writer, Entertainment Weekly); Josh Jackson (Co-Founder and Editor-In-Chief,
Paste Magazine); Zach Long (Associate Editor, Time Out Chicago); Caine O’Rear (Editor-In-Chief,
American Songwriter); Mike Molenda (Editor-In-Chief, Guitar Player); Sarah Jones (Editor,
Electronic Musician); Lyndsey Parker (Managing Editor, Yahoo Music); Matthew Meadow
(Editor-In-Chief, Your EDM); Jed Gottlieb (Music Writer, The Boston Herald); Kevin McNeese
(President, NewReleaseToday); Andy Herman (Music Editor, LA Weekly); Suzanne Cadgene (Publisher,
Elmore Magazine); and Sasha Geffen (Associate Editor, Consequence of Sound).

Screen Shot Judges

Screen Shot is a new category this year and accepts songs that are appropriate for film, tv,
advertising, gaming, etc.

Judges for the Screen Shot category include: Evan Stein (Experience Music Group); Velma Barkwell
(East End Music Productions); Jen Taunton (Level Two Music); James Kempner (JMK Connections);
Carlos Muhammad (Egyptian Man Entertainment Group); and Jessica Cole (Lyric House Publishing)

Grand Prize Mentors

Pete Ganberg (Executive VP/Head of A&R, Atlantic Records); Keith Naftaly (Executive VP of
A&R, RCA Records); Mike Elizondo (Senior Vice President of A&R, Warner Bros. Records);
Joey Arbagey (Executive VP of A&R, Epic Records); Kim Stephens (President, Forward
Entertainment); Mark Jowett (VP of A&R Int’l (Nettwerk Music Group); Dani Markman (Director
of A&R, Disney Music Group/Hollywood Records); Josh Bailey (Sr VP of A&R, Word
Entertainment); Nick Haussling (Director A&R, Razor & Tie); Michael Goldberg (A&R,
American Recordings); Doug Johnson (VP of A&R, Black River Entertainment); Jeanine
McLean-Griffin (Executive VP/GM, MBK Entertainment); and Marcus Spence (President, Mosley Music
Group/Epic Records).


AAA (Adult Album Alternative); AC (Adult Contemporary); Americana; Christian; Country; EDM;
Folk/Singer-Songwriter; R&B/Hip-Hop; Rock; Pop/Top 40; Screen Shot; Teen; and Vocal Performance

Unsigned Only is sponsored by: Berklee College Of Music; Bombplates; Celebrity Access; D’Addario; Disc Makers; Eventric; Gretsch Drums; Groove 3; Indie Bible; Intellitouch Tuner; LANDR; Lurssen Mastering; Musicians Institute; Radio Airplay; Sony Creative Software; and The Music Business Registry.

Sponsors Spotlight

Musicians Institute Musicians Institute
Since 1977, Musicians Institute has been helping generations of artists achieve academic
excellence and pursue successful careers in the music and entertainment industry. The
College of Contemporary Music is right in the heart of Hollywood, a dynamic location
that’s buzzing with culture and creativity around the clock. Learn all the skills you
need—from performing in every genre and using cutting-edge technology, to handling
the business of building your own artistic brand. For more info, visit www.mi.edu.

Bombplates Bombplates
Already used by some of the biggest names in music, Bombplates is a website builder created
by musicians, for musicians. With features like streaming audio, merch stores and fan clubs,
everything an artist needs to build a professional website is right at their fingertips. All
themes are fully customizable without any code knowledge necessary and are created with
modern devices in mind. Visit Bombplates.com for a full list of features and get started on
your new website today!

Industry Partners Spotlight

Americana Music Festival & Conference Americana Music Festival & Conference
Dubbed as “the coolest music scene today” by the New York Times, the 17th annual Americana
Music Festival & Conference will take place on September 20-25, 2016 in Nashville, Tenn.
The monumental event brings together fans and music industry professionals alike, offering
six chock-full days of celebration through seminars, panels and networking opportunities by
day and raw, battery recharging showcases each night. The 15th annual Americana Honors &
Awards Show (Sept. 21) is the hallmark event of the week, taking place at the historic Ryman
Auditorium. In addition, the conference will boast many highlights you do not want to miss,
including a keynote address delivered by T Bone Burnett. For more information on AmericanaFest,
please click here.




Related Posts

Radio Live Show Playlist April 17th

Tune In 24/7 to Country Music News International Radio Show

Radio Live Show Playlist April 15th

Tune In 24/7 to Country Music News International Radio Show

Radio Live Show Playlist April 13th

Tune In 24/7 to Country Music News International Radio Show

Country Music News International Newsletter

Here is your Country Music News & Bluegrass Music News of the week

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *