The Gibson Brothers Win “Entertainer of the Year” Award

Photo: Alane Anno for IBMA
The Gibson Brothers Win “Entertainer of the Year” at the 23rd Annual International Bluegrass Music Awards
Star-filled tribute to Earl Scruggs – featuring Steve Martin and the top musicians in
today’s bluegrass music – caps a night of stellar performances and special moments.

Gibson Brothers took home the “Entertainer of the Year” Award at the
23rd annual International Bluegrass Music Awards Thursday night,
September 27 at Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium. Brothers Eric and Leigh
Gibson, along with their band (Mike Barber, Clayton Campbell and Joe
Walsh) also picked up an award for “Gospel Recorded Performance of the
Year” for “Singing As We Rise.”

Junior Sisk & Ramblers Choice was another big winner of the night, winning “Album of the Year” (The Heart of a Song)
and “Single of the Year“ (“A Far Cry From Lester & Earl”). Russell
Moore (of Russell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out) and Dale Ann Bradley were
male and female vocalists of the year, respectively, and Joe Mullins
& The Radio Ramblers were the recipients of the prestigious Emerging
Artist award. A full listing of all this year’s winners and award
recipients appears below.

Doyle Lawson and the late Ralph Rinzler were the 2012 Hall of Fame inductees.
always, some of the best musicians in bluegrass delivered a night
filled with amazing performances. Hosts Del McCoury and Laurie Lewis
joined an ensemble called “the Masters of Bluegrass” — J.D. Crowe,
Bobby Hicks, Jerry McCoury and Bobby Osborne — to get the show off to a
rousing start.

Other standout performances included Dailey & Vincent’s stirring a cappella
rendition of “When The Roll is Called Up Yonder,” which brought the
audience to its feet; Frank Solivan and Dirty Kitchen’s bluegrass
interpretation of The Box Tops’ classic “The Letter;” and Hall of Fame
inductee Doyle Lawson’s performance, with his band Quicksilver, of
“Dixie Home.”

stunning all-star finale, led by last year’s “Entertainer of the Year”
recipient Steve Martin, filled the Ryman stage with some of bluegrass
music’s top banjo players and musicians, in a tribute to late banjo
legend Earl Scruggs, who died earlier this year. Participants in the
Scruggs tribute included Tom Adams, Eddie Adcock, Jessie Baker, Terry
Baucom, Sam Bush, Kristin Scott Benson, Alison Brown, Jason Burleson,
Greg Cahill, Jason Carter, J.D.Crowe, Jason Davis, Joe Dean, Steve
Dilling, Glenn Gibson, Eric Gibson, Mark Johnson, Doyle Lawson, Laurie
Lewis, Del McCoury, Rob McCoury, Lynn Morris, Joe Mullins, Mike Munford,
Chris Pandolfi, Graham Sharp, Sammy Shelor, Sleepy Man Banjo Boys
(Jonny, Robbie & Tommy Mizzone), Ron Stewart, Mike Sumner, Tony
Trischka, Scott Vestal, Pete Wernick, and Roland White.

Photo: Alane Anno for IBMA
The International Bluegrass Music Awards are voted on by the professional membership of the International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA), the trade association for the bluegrass music industry. The IBMA Awards Show is the centerpiece of the World of Bluegrass Week, which also includes the IBMA Business Conference and Bluegrass Fan Fest.
the first time ever, the 2012 IBMA Awards Show was broadcast live
from the Ryman as streaming video on and The Awards Show was also broadcast live on Sirius XM
Satellite Radio (Bluegrass Junction, Channel 14), on 650 WSM AM
and will be syndicated to more than 300 U.S. markets and 14 foreign
networks, thanks to sponsors Compass Records, ArtistWorks Academy of
Bluegrass, Deering Banjos, BMI, the International Bluegrass Music
Museum,, Boston Bluegrass Union,,
and 650 WSM AM. Program directors and station managers may register as
affiliates by calling 888-GET-IBMA or 615-256-3222.
For more information on World of Bluegrass week, go to, join us on Facebook, or call 615-256-3222 (1-888-GET-IBMA).
The 2012 International Bluegrass Awards
Bluegrass Hall of Fame Inductees: Doyle Lawson, Ralph Rinzler
Distinguished Achievement Award Recipients: Byron Berline, Joe & Lil Cornett, Orin Friesen, Pee Wee Lambert, Kitsy Kuykendall
Entertainer of the Year: The Gibson Brothers
Vocal Group of the Year: Blue Highway
Instrumental Group of the Year: The Boxcars
Emerging Artists of the Year: Joe Mullins & The Radio Ramblers
Male Vocalist of the Year: Russell Moore
Female Vocalist of the Year: Dale Ann Bradley
Song of the Year: “A Far Cry From Lester & Earl” Junior Sisk & Ramblers Choice
Album of the Year: Heart Of A Song, Junior Sisk & Ramblers Choice
Gospel Recorded Event of the Year: “Singing As We Rise” by the Gibson Brothers w/Ricky Skaggs
Instrumental Performance of the Year: “Angeline The Baker” by Lonesome River Band
Recorded Event of the Year: “Life
Goes On” by Carl Jackson, Ronnie Bowman, Larry Cordle, Jerry Salley,
Rickey Wasson, Randy Kohrs, D.A. Adkins, Garnet Bowman, Lynn Butler,
Ashley Kohrs, Gary Payne, Dale Pyatt, Clay Hess, Alan Bibey, Jay Weaver,
Ron Stewart & Jim VanCleve (artists); Jerry Salley, Carl Jackson,
Larry Cordle, Jim Van Cleve & Randy Kohrs (producers); Rural Rhythm
Banjo Player of the Year: Sammy Shelor
Bass Player of the Year: Marshall Wilborn
Fiddle Player of the Year: Stuart Duncan
Dobro Player of the Year: Rob Ickes 
Guitar Player of the Year: Doc Watson
Mandolinist of the Year: Adam Steffey
Broadcaster of the Year: Kyle Cantrell
Bluegrass Event of the Year: ROMP,  produced by the International Bluegrass Music Museum; Owensboro, KY
Print Media Person of the Year: Marty Godbey, author of Crowe on the Banjo: The Music Life of J.D. Crowe (Univ. of Illinois Press)
Best Graphic Design – Bedrock Manufacturing (designer) for Nobody Knows You, by the Steep Canyon Rangers (Rounder Records)
Best Liner Notes: Marian Leighton Levy (liner notes), for Tony Rice: The Bill Monroe Collection, by Tony Rice (Rounder Records)
Bluegrass Songwriter of the Year: Jon Weisberger

Earlier this week, IBMA’s new Momentum Awards,
designed to recognize promising new talent, were presented. This year’s
recipients of the Momentum Awards – which focus on artists and business
people in the early years of their careers in bluegrass music – are:

Band of the Year: Monroeville
Vocalist of the Year: Emily Bankester (performs with The Bankesters)
Instrumentalists of the Year:
bassist Samson Grisman (son of legendary mandolinist David “Dawg”
Grisman, performs with The Deadly Gentlemen), fiddler Alex Hargreaves
(performs with Sarah Jarosz), and fiddler Christian Ward (performs with
Sierra Hull)
Event/Venue of the Year: Appalachian Uprising, produced by Steve Cielic (new festival in Scottown, Ohio)
Industry Achievement: Crash Avenue publicist Emilee Warner

Mentor of the Year: Five-time IBMA Bass Player of the Year and producer Mike Bub

Related Posts

Radio Live Show Playlist April 13th

Tune In 24/7 to Country Music News International Radio Show

Country Music News International Newsletter

Here is your Country Music News & Bluegrass Music News of the week

Makenzie Phipps on Country Music News International Radio Show

April 15th, 16th, 17th, 18th, 19th, 20th interviewed by Big Al Weekley!

Radio Live Show Playlist April 10th

Tune In 24/7 to Country Music News International Radio Show

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *