Rex Allen – America’s Last Singing Cowboy, the First in the Highly Anticipated Western Heritage Series Released Today By Country Rewind Records

Rex Allen – America’s Last Singing Cowboy is the latest release by Country Rewind Records and the first in a new series, referred to as the Western Heritage Series which will also feature The Son’s of the Pioneers and Tex Ritter.
Rex Allen was a multimedia star before the term ‘multimedia’ was
coined. He found fame as a singer, a song- writer, a Western movie star,
a television actor and (in later life) as a narrator of Disney movies
and TV shows. Rex Allen – America’s Last Singing Cowboy is being
distributed by Select-O-Hits and available to order on Country Rewind
Records website

The new music is also available for streaming and download on all
digital music platforms including Apple Music, iTunes, Spotify, Amazon
Music, Google Play, Pandora and more here.

Some of the tracks on this album were even a revelation to Rex Allen,
Jr. “I had never heard “Blue Dream” before,” he said. “Not only had I
never heard that track before, but I had never heard him sing it. I
worked with dad on around 200 performances in my early life. The same
goes for “The Blue Light Waltz.” I’d never heard that song before,
either! They are just gorgeous pieces of Western material with the Sons
of the Pioneers singing background vocals. It is absolutely magical. The
world needs to hear these songs.”

“After looking over the Masters that Thomas had in his files, I realized
the Country and Western Music History he has in his library. Thomas and
I agreed that we needed to create a new category for Country Rewind
Records. I suggested The Western Heritage Series to Thomas and he jumped
all over it,” says Rex Allen jr. “There are now six CD’s in production.
Rex Allen Sr., Rex Allen Jr., The Sons Of The Pioneers, Tex Ritter, Roy
Rogers, Tex Williams and Merle Travis. All this music represents the
influence of the West Coast on Country Music from the 40’s through even
today. Thank you Thomas Gramuglia and Country Rewind Records for letting
this history come to light.”

Country Rewind Records, Thomas Gramuglia, rescued the master tapes which
have been in storage for nearly 50 years. Rex Allen – America’s Last
Singing Cowboy was Produced by Artist/Producer Rex Allen Jr. for Boxer
Productions at Mountain Side Audio Labs Recording Studio engineered by
Bil VornDick with assistant Sam Ventura. Mastered by Ron Tyler-Whitting
at Oasis-GHD Productions, LLC and engineered by Bil Vorndick with
assistance by Sam Ventura. Background vocals were added by Jim Farrell,
Rex Allen Jr., “The Riders In The Sky” (Ranger Doug, Too Slim, Woody
Paul.) Musicians included Rex Allen Jr. on acoustic guitar, Bil Vorndick
on percussion:, Jim Farrell keyboards and synthesizer. Graphic Design
by Jeff Taylor at Nashville CD Design. Everyone involved with the music
has been honored and thrilled to be part of these historical projects.
These long-forgotten recordings are now saved for prosperity.

Track List – Rex Allen – America’s Last Singing Cowboy:

1. Texas Plains – Stuart Hamblen

2. Lazy River – Hoagy Carmichael, Sidney Arodin

3. My Swiss Moonlight Lullaby (Strollin’ Along) – Wilf Carter

4. I Can’t Stop Loving You – Don Gibson

5. There’s A Blue Sky Way Up Yonder  – Fred Hall, Bert Van Cleve, Arthur Fields

6. The Trail Of The Lonesome Pine – Ballard Mac Donald, Harry Carroll

7. Highways Are Happy Ways – Harry Harris, Tommie Malie, Larry Shay

8. Blue Dream  – Boudleaux Bryant, Felice Bryant

9. Money Marbles and Chalk – Pop Eckler

10. Blue Light Waltz – Al Hoffman, Dick Manning

11. All Cried Out – Rex Allen

12. This Land Is Your Land – Woody Guthrie

13. Streets of Laredo  – Marty Robbins

14. Son Don’t Go Near The Indians  – Novalee and Lorene Mann

15. This Old House – Stuart Hamblen

Rex Allen – America’s Last Singing Cowboy consists of tracks that have
not been heard for decades and never commercially released. They were
originally made at Radio Recorders’ California studios with the Cliffie
Stone Band and the legendary Sons of the Pioneers. The masters date from
1950 to 1965. The recordings on this album were long thought to have
been forgotten and lost forever.

Tom Gramuglia, President of Country Rewind Records, brought the masters
to Allen’s son, Rex Allen, Jr., who produced the ‘cleaned up’ recordings
that you hear on this album. Working at Mountainside Audio in
Nashville, Rex Jr added some instrumentation and background vocals by
Riders In The Sky. “They sound so much like The Sons of the Pioneers,”
he said.

These recordings are a follow up to Country Rewind Records previous
releases of such greats as Conway Twitty, Waylon Jennings, Connie Smith,
Jeannie C. Riley and more which have all received great reviews by
music critics worldwide.

Country Rewind Records has dedicated itself to bring classic country
with this contemporary feel to not only the past country fans but also
to the new country listeners.

Stay current with Country Rewind Records on their website and social media platform Facebook

About Country Rewind Records:

Country Rewind Records (CRR) was founded by Thomas
Gramuglia of Hindsight Records in 2014, Gramuglia obtained a treasure
chest of unreleased recordings from recruitment radio shows from the
‘60s and ‘70s. The superb CRR collection of original master recordings
contains music from more than 100 country music legends and trendsetters
(including intimate performances by country music greats such as
Loretta Lynn, George Jones, Connie Smith, Faron Young, Dolly Parton,
Conway Twitty and many more). These recordings were never released for
commercial use. After a diligent quest to collect appropriate and legal
permissions from artists and/or their estates, CRR has now recorded and
produced multiple, quintessential, “must-hear” projects. With the
mission to transfer these never-heard-before tracks to a high quality,
state-of-the-art recording; complemented by contemporary instrumentation
and background vocals, Country Rewind Records will release this
historical American music to America’s music generations of the future.
For more information visit

Related Posts

Radio Live Show Playlist February 17th

Tune In 24/7 to Country Music News International Radio Show

Country Music News International Newsletter

Here is your Country Music News & Bluegrass Music News of the week

Wilson Banjo & Co on Country Music News International Radio Show

February 19th, 20th, 21th, 23rd, 24th interviewed by Big Al Weekley!

Radio Live Show Playlist February 14th

Tune In 24/7 to Country Music News International Radio Show

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *