English EN German DE Russian RU French FR Ukrainian UK Chinese (Simplified) ZH-CN Portuguese PT Spanish ES

Kenny Chesney’s Trip Around The Sun Bows 55k Strong

Kenny Chesney’s Trip Around The Sun Bows 55k Strong

Plays to 55,292 at Tampa’s Raymond James Stadium

Tampa, Fl. — Eight songs into Kenny Chesney’s no-holds-barred set at
Tampa’s Raymond James Stadium, the East Tennessee songwriter/superstar finally
paused for a moment, ran his hands down the legs of his jeans and told
the at-capacity crowd, “I got asked every day, ‘Why Tampa?’ All you
gotta’ do is listen to this…” When the shrieking subsided, he then said
he was going to play a new song about turning negative energy into
positive energy, and launched into “Get Along,” his first single for
Blue Chair/Warner Bros. Nashville.

“All I want any time I get on a stage is to turn peoples’ bad days into something great,” says the man The Los Angeles Times
deemed “The People’s Superstar,” “and take their great days and make
them everything you could ever want. That’s what music does: change the
moment, and that’s a big part of why I do what I do.”

For 127 minutes in Tampa, that’s just what Chesney did. With a lean
show, twenty-five songs and an audience that started lining up before
daybreak, the 8-time Entertainer of the Year embraced new songs (“All
The Pretty Girls,” “Get Along”), old favorites (“Don’t Happen Twice,”
“How Forever Feels”), mid-career classics (“Young,” “I Go Back,”
“Anything But Mine”) and solo acoustics (“You & Tequila,” “Old Blue
Chair”) for a show defined by ebullience, electric guitars and Chesney’s
irrepressible energy.

Reaching for “Everything’s Gonna Be Alright,” his duet with David Lee
Murphy, Chesney mined pictures from his Love For Love City rescue relief
efforts to give people a sense of the devastation and work that’s gone
into restoring the US/BVI’s Hurricane Irma relief efforts. Beyond the
leveled buildings, island natives and school children, the montage
focused on some of the over 1,000 animals rescued.

“Music is medicine, and it’s energy, and it’s fuel,” says the man who
will play 19 stadiums this summer. “To me, when music is really firing,
it can help you do impossible things, lift you out of unthinkable
problems and give you a reason to keep going.”

Using “When The Sun Goes Down” as a way to introduce his band, Chesney
lingered on the empty keyboard rig, then explained to the crowd that his
musical director Wyatt Beard was in the hospital here having emergency
surgery two days prior. Taking the collective energy, he asked the fans
“on the count of three” to yell, “We love you, Wyatt!”

Like much of the night, the response was deafening. Beaming, the man who
ran from side to side, slid down the strut, brought a special needs
child onstage to rock and worked up a full body sweat from the minute
the second song came to play. There was no question about his – or the
band’s – intention, and the audience gave even better than they got.

“When people come together in the name of music, then let go,” Chesney
marvels, “there’s no feeling like it. Listening to the fans sing
‘American Kids’ and ‘Setting the World On Fire’ was a total rush. It’s
not the only reason I do this, but it’s a good one.”  

 

Kenny Chesney’s 2018 Trip Around the Sun Tour Presented by Blue Chair Bay Rum

Saturday, April 28, Milwaukee, Wisconsin, Miller Park

Saturday, May 5, Minneapolis, Minnesota, U.S. Bank Stadium

Thursday, May 10, Virginia Beach, Virginia, Farm Bureau Live at Virginia Beach

Friday, May 11, Charlotte, North Carolina, PNC Music Pavilion

Saturday, May 12, Raleigh, North Carolina, Coastal Credit Union Music Park at Walnut Creek

Wednesday, May 16, Del Valle, Texas, Austin360 Amphitheater

Thursday, May 17, The Woodlands, Texas, Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavilion

Saturday, May 19, Arlington, Texas, AT&T Stadium

Thursday, May 24, West Palm Beach, Florida, Coral Sky Amphitheatre

Saturday, May 26, Atlanta, Georgia, Mercedes-Benz Stadium

Thursday, May 31, Noblesville, Indiana, The Ruoff Home Mortgage Music Center

Saturday, June 2, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, Heinz Field

Wednesday, June 6, Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, Blossom Music Center

Thursday, June 7, Syracuse, New York, Lakeview Amphitheater

Saturday, June 9, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Lincoln Financial Field

Friday, June 15, Bristow, Virginia, Jiffy Lube Live

Saturday, June 16, Columbus, Ohio, MAPFRE Stadium

Wednesday, June 20, Mountain View, California, Shoreline Amphitheatre

Thursday, June 21, Chula Vista, California, Mattress Firm Amphitheatre

Saturday, June 23, Phoenix, Arizona, Chase Field

Thursday, June 28, West Valley City, Utah, USANA Amphitheatre

Saturday, June 30, Denver, Colorado, Sports Authority Field at Mile High

Tuesday, July 3, Stateline, Nevada, Harveys Lake Tahoe Casino

Thursday, July 5, Nampa, Idaho, Ford Idaho Center

Saturday, July 7, Seattle, Washington, CenturyLink Field

Thursday, July 12, Rogers, Arkansas, Walmart Arkansas Music Pavilion

Saturday, July 14, Kansas City, Missouri, Arrowhead Stadium

Thursday, July 19, Southaven, Mississippi, BankPlus Amphitheater

Saturday, July 21, St. Louis, Missouri, Busch Stadium

Thursday, July 26, Cincinnati, Ohio, Riverbend Music Center

Saturday, July 28, Chicago, Illinois, Soldier Field

Thursday, August 2, Toronto, Ontario, Canada, Molson Canadian Amphitheatre

Saturday, August 4, Detroit, Michigan, Ford Field

Saturday, August 11, Nashville, Tennessee, Nissan Stadium

Thursday, August 16, Bangor, Maine, Darling’s Waterfront Pavilion

Saturday, August 18, East Rutherford, New Jersey, MetLife Stadium

Wednesday, August 22, Columbia, Maryland, Merriweather Post Pavilion

Friday, August 24, Foxborough, Massachusetts, Gillette Stadium

Saturday, August 25, Foxborough, Massachusetts, Gillette, Stadium

Related Posts

Country Music News International Radio Show Playlist September 26.

Tune In 4 CMNI Radio Show Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Saturday!

Andrew Salgado – Five Weeks At Number One

with “Lipstick Stains On My T-Shirt” at Top 50 Hot Country Song Chart

Country Music News International Newsletter

Here is your Country Music News & Bluegrass Music News of the week!

David Frizzell on Country Music News International Radio Show

Tune In 4 CMNI Radio Show on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Saturday!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.