English EN German DE Russian RU French FR Ukrainian UK Chinese (Simplified) ZH-CN Portuguese PT Spanish ES

Gala night at 14th Annual America Honors & Awards

Gala night at 14th Annual America
Honors & Awards
Americana celebrated its 14th Annual Americana Honors & Awards
September 17 at the Ryman Auditorium. This year’s winners reflected the
community’s spirit of eclecticism with Shakey Graves as Emerging Artist of the
Year; John Leventhal, Instrumentalist of the Year; The Mavericks, Group/Duo of
the Year; Lucinda Williams, Album of the Year (‘Down Where The Spirit Meets The
Bone’); and Sturgill Simpson claiming both Song of the Year (for “Turtles
All The Way Down”) and Artist of the Year trophies.       
Hosted by Jim
Lauderdale, the show kicked off the 16th Annual Americana Music Festival and
Conference, presented by Nissan, and featured an all-star house band led by
Buddy Miller. Performances by Lifetime Achievement Award honorees Buffy
Sainte-Marie, Don Henley, Gillian Welch, David Rawlings, Ricky Skaggs and Los
Lobos brought the sold-out crowd to its feet, and in true Americana style, the
evening was loaded with musical moments, including ovation-worthy performances
by Ry Cooder with Sharon White; Shakey Graves with Esme Patterson and Rhiannon
Giddens, John Hiatt, Houndmouth, Jason Isbell, Nikki Lane, Jim Lauderdale, The
Lone Bellow, Mavericks, Buddy Miller with Marc Ribot, Keb Mo, Robert Randolph
with The Fairfield Four and McCrary Sisters, Doug Seegers, Lucinda Williams and
Lee Ann Womack.      
This year’s presenters included Joey Ryan and Kenneth Pattengale of the
Milk Carton Kids; Rosanne Cash; Marc Ribot; Americana Chart Founding Fathers
Rob Bleetstein and John Grimson; Abigail Washburn and Noam Pikelny; Mary Gauthier
and Mike Farris; Ry Cooder; Rodney Crowell; Sara and Sean Watkins; John Kay and
Ken Paulson; and Robyn Hitchcock.  The
show was broadcast live on SiriusXM’s Outlaw Country; terrestrial radio
partner, WSM; and streamed live through a partnership with NPR Music (Live
Audio/Video) and Folk Alley (Audio only). PBS will broadcast an edited version
of the show as an Austin City Limits special later this year. For a full list
of award recipients, visit americanamusic.org.
Preshias Harris for Country Music News International

Related Posts

Kenny Chesney Leaves The Steel Mill

Colton James EP America – Includes Ring On Her Finger & I Miss America

By Preshias Harris for Country Music News International Magazine

Kenny’s HERE AND NOW #1 Country Tour

Chesney: “It’s a crazy thing to play a show when you’re backed up to the edge of the back end of the end zone!”

Jo Dee Messina Opens for Reba McEntire

Jo Dee Messina had a monumental year!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *