CD Review: Ben Reel – The Nashville Calling

Track Listing: 1.All in Good Time (4.07) 2. Tough People (4.31) 3. Safe and Sound (4.50) 4. Like a Breeze (3.55)

5.Round the Next Bend (4.14) 6. Imagination (3.07) 7. Up There in The Sky (3.17) 8. Fine Wine (4.40)

9.New Jerusalem (3.34) 10. Broken (3.31) 11. Borrowed Time (3.34)

All compositions Ben Reel IMRO ℗ & © 2020 Available as a download or CD

Musicians: Ben Reel – vocals, acoustic guitar, harmonica.  Will Kimbrough – electric guitars, keys, melotrone, mandolin, backing vocals , dobro, percussion.

Tommy Womack– additional electric guitar, backing vocals. Evan Hutchings – drums & percussion. Garry W Tallent bass. Julieanne Reel  backing vocals.

Recorded @ Skinny Elephant Studio, Nashville. Mixed by: Dylan Alltredge @ Skinny Elephant Studio, Nashville. Mastered by: Jim DeMain, Yes Mastering Studio, Nashville

‘The Nashville Calling` is the title of the soon to be released ninth studio album by Irish artist Ben Reel. Produced by Will Kimbrough and Tommy Womack and featuring Garry W Tallent on bass from the legendary E Street Band. The album contains eleven new tracks all written

by Ben Reel. It was recorded at Skinny Elephant Studios in Nashville.
This album was done and dusted in just three days with all live takes.
Following the critically acclaimed experimental slow burner `Land of Escape’ from 2018, this new record has a more Americana, rootsy rock, live band feel.

Since his debut album `This Is the Movie’ back in 1999, Ben has reinvented himself from album to album, influenced by different styles of music over the years.

one critic said,” He’s not afraid to throw in some folk, soul, reggae
vibes, which in turn call to mind John Hiatt at his best”. Another
describes him as “somewhere in the middle ground between rock and
jazz or a sound that is sometimes reminiscent of Dylan and the Band”.

a solo career which now spans over twenty years, Ben has received
worldwide critical acclaim with numerous high profile TV/Radio
appearances like BBC, RTE and Dutch NPO Radio. Supporting Jools Holland,
Alabama 3 & The Cranberries and he has collaborated musically with
such names as Hal Ketchum & The Blockheads. He has co written and
performed live with his fellow countryman Tony McLoughlin and some of
Nashville’s finest such as David Olney & Irene Kelley.

the past Ben was selected to play an official showcase at Folk Alliance
in Memphis TN and has toured as double bill with Tommy Womack
(Nashville) in the U.S & UK and also with legendary American folk
singer/songwriter Eric Andersen in the UK & NL. While in Nashville
he was invited to play the famous Bluebird cafe on a number of
occasions, most recently Sept 2018.

the last ten years Ben has enjoyed successful tours in Ireland, UK,
Europe & U.S.A, receiving rave reviews and attracting a growing
loyal fan base. He has graced big festivals such as Jamming@Hippie Jacks
(USA), Musiktan festival in Bilbao, (ESP). Haarlem Jazz & Huntenpop
(NL), Robin Hood folk festival (UK), Kilkenny rhythm & roots, Cork
jazz & Electric Picnic (EIRE). 

About Ben Reel:

Reel is a native of Silverbridge, South Armagh.  Soon after high school
at the age of seventeen he started his musical career in 1989
performing & songwriting with local band “Trim The Velvet”’ before
going solo in the late nineties.

Against the backdrop of the troubles in Northern Ireland, music became Ben’s way out. 

first picked up the guitar when he was fifteen years old, inspired by
the realness of the likes of Bruce Springsteen, Van Morrison & Neil
Young whose music struck a chord that resonated deep into Reel’s psyche.
This is still reflected in Ben’s heart on the sleeve approach to
performing and writing.

Ben Reel performs occasionally as solo or duo with his wife Julieanne
or with his Dutch band `The Haarlem Boys’ but mainly he performs with
his fantastic Irish band `The Ben Reel Band’. He divides his time
between touring Europe and the USA and producing music for himself and
other musicians.

The Ben Reel Band

Ben Reel: vocals acoustic guitar, harmonica.

Michael Black: drums.

Ronnie O’Flynn: bass.

Micky McCarney: Guitar

Gerry Black Jnr: Guitar

Julieanne Black: backing vocals and percussion,

Discography: Albums

The Nashville Calling (Feb 2020)

Land Of Escape (2018)

7th (2015)

Darkness & The Light (2013)

Time To Get Real 2009

New Horizon (2007)

Sweet Victory (2004)

Lost in a Haze (2001)

This Is the Movie (1999)

Discography: Compilations

Ben Reel – ’10’ (1999-2009)

Discography: EP’s

Exorcise Me E.P. (2000)

U People (2005) single

Related Posts

Auburn McCormick – Overdramatic

  By Madison Monroe for Country Music News International Magazine

Taylor Austin Dye – Out of These Hills

By Madison Monroe for Country Music News International Magazine

Eddie Noack – Gentlemen Prefer Blondes

By Christian Lamitschka for Country Music News International Magazine

Tracy Byrd – The Definitive Collection

By Christian Lamitschka for Country Music News International Magazine

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *